Shorin-Ryu (Jissen Karate-Jutsu)

Shorin-Ryu Karate is one of the major branches of Okinawa Karate. It primarily consists of techniques, and traditions practiced in the Shuri-Te and Tomari-Te. Some schools have adopted Kata as well as techniques from the Shorei-Ryu schools, which is the Naha-Te style of Okinawa Karate. Shorin-Ryu was first named by Chosin Chibana in 1933.

There are four main branches of Shorin-Ryu. Those branches are Kobayashi-Ryu, Matsubayashi-Ryu, Shobayashi-Ryu and Matsumura Seito.

Choshin Chibana (1885-1969)
Choshin Chibana (1885-1969) – Style also known as: Kobayashi-Ryu
Shoshin Nagamine (1907–1997)
Shoshin Nagamine (1907–1997) – Style also known as: Matsubayashi-Ryu
Eizo Shimabukuro - Shobayashi Shorin-Ryu
Eizo Shimabukuro – Style also known as: Shobayashi-Ryu
Soken Hohan (1889-1982) - Matsumura Seito
Soken Hohan (1889-1982) – Style also known as: Matsumura Seito






Related links